Philippines Hotels Travel Guide & Health and Wellness Nutraceuticals Industry
World Class Philippine Hotels, Beaches, Beach Resorts, Travel & Tours, Vacations, Holidays
World Class Philippine Hotels and Beach Resorts - Discounts, Informations and Reservations
away from Manila (Rizal Monument)
1. Marker of the Philippine Commission's First Session in Baguio - This is the site of the building where the members of the Philippine Commission met from April 22 to June 11, 1904 and officially initiated the use of Baguio as the Philippine Summer Capital.
The Commission was composed of Governor General Luke Wright, president, and Commissioners Henry Ide, Den C. Worcester, T. Padre Tavera, benito Legarda, Jose de Luzuriaga, James Smith and Cameron Forbes.
To celebrate the 75th Anniversary of Baguio a project was done to locate, clean and spruce up all historical markers. So the marker was fenced off and signboards were made.
Source of Information: Department of Tourism, Philippines
2. Kennon Road and its builder - Named after Col. Lyman W. Kennon who was the final builder of the famous benguet road, with the help of the industrious Cordilleras and foreign workers.
Kennon road is the shortest and the most scenic highway linking Baguio and the lowlands. The Lion's head can be found along the way.
Final construction of this road was finished in 1903. Col. L. Kennon first ascended to Baguio in 1905.
Of the original workers, the Igorots and Japanese were admired for their trustworthiness and willingness to work.
Kennon was closed to traffic after the July 16, 1990 earthquake. It is now open to light vehicles.
3. Diplomat Hotel on Dominican Hill - In May 1911, the councils of the Province of the Dominican Order voted to construct a vacation house in Baguio on a 17 hectare property they had acquired when the American authorities were encouraging people to come here. Actual work started in 1913 under Fr. Roque Ruano and the building was inaugurated on May 23, 1915. To take advantage of the tax exemptions a school called Collegio del Santissimo Rosario was opened in June 1915 but due to the very small enrollment the school closed in 1917, reverting the building to the original vacation house sanitarium.
During WWII it was first occupied by refugees. Later the Japanese Army Liberation Forces had to bomb out the refugees from the buildings. The five direct hits left very extensive damage and for a time it was left unrepaired. Reconstruction was started in 1947 and completed in 1948 with most of its pre-war grandeur and beauty restored.
In 1973, Diplomats Hotels, Inc. acquired ownership, remodeled the interior into a 33 bedroom hotel with modern facilities, but retained the unique and distinct personality of the Dominican Hill. In the 80's the hotel ceased operations due to the death of one of its majority stockholders. Plans are underway to develop this historical religious landmark into a tourist resort.
4. Philippine Military Academy - The Philippine Commission promulgated Act No. 175 which became the basis for the creation of the Philippine Constabulary in August 8, 1905. The school for the officers of the constabulary was first located in Sta. Lucia Barracks in Manila. Later in 1908, it was relocated in Baguio on the site known as Constabulary Hill later renamed Camp Henry T. Allen, in honor of the first chief of the Philippine Constabulary.
With the passage of the Jones Law, the school was later changed to "Academy for officers of the Philippine Constabulary" with a two-year curriculum. In 1908, the course was raised to collegiate level and later lenghtened to three years with class 1938 as having the lease graduates of that course.
When the commonwealth government was established in 1935, the Philippine Military Academy was created in place of the Philippine Constabulary Academy. Under the National Defense Act, the PMA was authorized to maintain a cadet strength of 350. Because of increased population, the academy transferred to Teachers Camp in June 1936 where it remained until WWII broke out.
After the war the PMA headquarters was temporarily relocated at Camp Murphy and later at Alabang, while Camp Allen was being rehabilitated. In April 1947 the PMA was back to its original home in Camp Allen.
Again they had to transfer to Loakan because of overcrowding. Since May 1950 the Philippine Military Academy has found its permanent home at Fort del Pilar, Loakan, Baguio City.
5. The Mansion - This imposing and majestic Baguio mansion house has a long list of Filipino presidents and American governor-generals. It has elegantly structured building and guesthouse. It's gate is patterned after that of London's Buckingham Palace. The Mansion has also been the site of several international conferences and a working office of the President of the Philippines during his visits to the City.
6. Camp John Hay - This former American recreational facility is currently undergoing development as a world class resort.
7. Teachers Camp - It was through the vacation normal school which began in Teacher's Camp 1908, that not only teachers from all over the islands were able to have a respite and some more time for studies, but the city became nationally popularized.
In a letter to the Secretary of Public Instruction, Governor William Pack outlines his plan to set up a camp in Baguio where teachers can be accommodated. The plan was approved on January 8, 1908 and the camp was opened on April 6, 1908.
For a start, four assembly tents were put up for kitchen, dining and storage purposes and two other large tents were set aside for class purposes. Later on, the "KURSAAK" was constructed in 1909 as a permanent structure and took over the functions of the mess tent, aside from being the social center for assemblies. The next year, other buildings were added, the road traversing the vast hectarage leveled and the athletic field out in its hollow.
In 1912, Benitez Hall , Ladies Hall, the Secretary's Cottage, the Under-Secretary's Cottage the Director and the Assistant's Cottages were built. Several more appropriations were passed to construct the Teacher's Hall, the Tavera Hall and the White Hall in 1927. In 1937, General Luna Hall was built by the Philippine Military Academy.
It now caters to conferences, meetings seminars and social functions sponsored by the government sector.History - Overview | Population, Language Spoken, Major Industries - Tourist Attractions - Historical Attractions - Cultural Attractions - Natural Attractions - Manmade Attractions - Festivals and Events - Map
While we strive to give accurate information, we are not liable for any mistakes in information materials, written or any other kind